Your local coordinator in Canada


Here we briefly introduce the team from our partner office in Canada. Jeanette and her colleagues will place you in your volunteer project or internship, organize everything you need and will help you with all your questions. They will share their inside knowledge with you - so that your time as globetrotter will become the highlight of your life!

Meet Jeanette

Jeanette in Canadian but she has already lived in Italy, France and the Netherlands. Traveling is her biggest hobby. Europe, asia, Africa and South America - for her, the world can not be 'colorful' enough. She keeps all her adventures with her camera. You will definitely won't have any communication difficulties with Jeanette because she speaks 6 languages.

Where are you from originally?

I am Canadian and have lived in France, the Netherlands and Italy as an aupair, international student and working holidaymaker.

When did you start to provide internships and volunteer travels?

I have been working in youth travel and study & work abroad programs in Canada for 14 years. I have been working with Latitude International since 2011 providing work experiences in Canada such as internship, farmstay and volunteer.

Where else did you travel to so far?

I have been to more than 20 countries and some of them more than 20 times including Japan, Taiwan, Korea, Brazil, Mexico, Turkey and all over Europe. Most of this was business travel but have also studied and worked abroad in Europe when I was much younger.

What do you love in general?

I love travel, photography, cooking and languages. I especially enjoy taking cooking classes when I travel! I like learning new languages and have studied French, Dutch, Spanish, Italian and Arabic. And sign language!

What do you love about your job?

I really enjoy working with young people, their enthusiasm is contagious and I love to hear about their experiences abroad.

What do you dislike about your job?

Visa regulations can sometimes be challenging!

What do you want to show to volunteers about your (new) home country?

That Canada is a beautiful natural place with many opportunities for young people to be creative and innovative and gain valuable experiences.

How does your normal day look like?

I wake up normally around 6:30 and usually start the day with coffee and yoga. I scan all the social media and read the news. I usually spend lunch at home. I normally end the day with a long walk or a bike ride.

What do you do at home to relax your mind?

I like to do yoga at home and watch documentaries.

Do you like any outdoor activities?

In the summer yes! I like to swim and hike, sometimes canoeing. In the winter, I hibernate!

Any personal plans for the future that you would like to share?

I look forward to visiting a few new countries including Greece.