Your local coordinator in Namibia


Here we briefly introduce the team from our partner office in Namibia. Agnes and her colleagues will place you in your volunteer project, organize everything you need and will help you with all your questions. They will share their inside knowledge with you - so that your time as globetrotter will become the highlight of your life!

Meet Agnes

Agnes comes from the beautiful Austria and is what you call a globetrotter. She traveled to every continent - but lost her heart in Africa. In Namibia she found her personal fulfillment. Always with an honest smile on her lips, Agnes helps with her project children who need support. To keep her own balance in this hard work, she takes the time to read, to knit or to play with her dogs.

Where are you from originally?

I am from Austria, Vienna and moved to Namibia in 2007.

When did you start to provide internships and volunteer travels?

Since 2012 we are accommodating volunteers at Mammadu, as Mammadu only opened as a centre for orphans and vulnerable children in 2011.

Where else did you travel to so far?

I personaly travelled a lot, whole Europe, Usa, Central and South America and Africa

What do you love in general?

People, mostly children, deserts or space but I love good food too.

What do you love about your job?

It is life fulfilling and it makes me happy to see 'my' kids growing healthy and in a safe place giving them a chance for their future.

What do you dislike about your job?

The paperwork.

What do you want to show to volunteers about your (new) home country?

Actually everything, Namibia is such a wonderful country, but mostly my children. It's very important for volunteers to understand where these kids come from.

How does your normal day look like?

Wakeup at 5:30, a bit of reading as I'm very slow in the morning. Gym for an hour just to keep fit and healthy for the kids and then all the commissions, like buying food, ministries for financial assistance, schools for school fees, getting some of the bikes fixed, getting new keys as some got lost and so on, sorting out my emails, preparing the documents for bookkeeper, paying invoices and salaries and latest by 13 pm a try to be at the projects place as that is lunch time and its the busiest moment of the day and after the kids have to do their homework and there are never enough people to help them with that. Coming home by 5pm, feeding my animals, 3 dogs, 2 cats, finishing my emails and what came up during the day, dinner for my husband.

What do you do at home to relax your mind?

Read and knit, that gives me balance and serenity.

Do you like any outdoor activities?

Playing with the kids, walking my dogs, doing gardening in my garden.

Any personal plans for next year that you would like to share?

Next year I will increase from 40 kids to at least 50 so that I can help more children, need for another teacher, a bigger bus.... If we have enough money built a kind of hostel to accommodate children which have true problems at home.