Your Local Coordinator in South Africa


Here we briefly introduce the team from our partner office in South Africa. Jana and her colleagues will place you in your volunteer project or internship, organize everything you need and will help you with all your questions. They will share their inside knowledge with you - so that your time as globetrotter will become the highlight of your life!

Meet Jana

If you go to the beach in Cape Town early in the morning,, you'll maybe meet Jana. The German likes to enjoy together with her dogs the quietness there before starting to work. Besides that she loves the action of the day, e.g. meeting with the international volunteers and interns. She likes getting part of their exciting overseas adventures. She knows the globetrotter life herself - from India, Spain, Namibia, Indonesia, Hungary and so on...

Where are you from originally?

Germany (born in Erfurt, lived in Berlin for 9 years before moving to South Africa in 2004)

When did you start to provide internships and volunteer travels?

I started already while living in Berlin in 2002. I worked for an internship placement agency that arranged for internships in Southern Africa and always loved the job.

Where else did you travel to so far?

India, Indonesia, quite a few European countries (Italy, UK, Spain, Turkey, Greece, Hungary, Netherlands, Belgium,etc). Some African countries (Namibia, Zimbabwe, Tanzania and Zanzibar, Kenya, Mozambique, Botswana, Malawi, Sierra Leone).

Still to cover: America, Australia, New Zealand and more of Asia.

What do you love in general?

I like to travel and meet new people.

What do you love about your job?

We deal with young people and participate in an interesting phase of their lives. It is so interesting to see how characters evolve, people become more self confident and more self assured.

What do you dislike about your job?

That we have to do endless follow ups with some companies and local partners. It’s a South African thing.

What do you want to show to volunteers about your (new) home country?

The friendliness and openness of the locals. They are never too busy for a small chat or for a smile, even in the harshest living conditions.

How does your normal day look like?

I wake up around seven and sometimes take my dogs for a walk on the beach before going to work. I start at 9h00 and there is lots of emails! I spent most of my day behind the screen, but often we welcome new interns or volunteers, meet employers, see host families or view other accommodation facilities. Every Wednesday we do a “Stammtisch” meeting with our clients in Cape Town.

What do you do at home to relax your mind?

In Cape Town there is always something going on to keep the mind busy. If at home I like to read, do some beading or just relax.

Do you like any outdoor activities?

I am not so sporty, even though Cape Town offers so many opportunities for hiking, water sports or even flying. I used to be a pilot but have not been flying for years now.

Any personal plans for the future that you would like to share?

I would like to get more creative and stop working overtime!