Your local coordinator in the Dominican Republic


Here we briefly introduce the team from our partner office in the Dominican Republic. Manfred and his colleagues will place you in your volunteer project or internship, organize everything you need and will help you with all your questions. They will share their inside knowledge with you - so that your time as globetrotter will become the highlight of your life!

Meet Manfred

There are no such things as customers for Manfred; all volunteers and interns in the Dominican Republic are considered his guests and friends. He cares for them just as he cares for his projects. Manfred is the one who will organize your Spanish language course, help you to find an exciting outdoor adventure and will be there for you whenever you need him. Originally, he was born in Germany, but after living in Latin America for over 30 years he has fully adapted to the easy going way of life. 

Where are you from originally?

I was born in Germany but lived in the Latin America for more than 30 years.

When did you start to provide internships and volunteer travels?

In 2002 when I needed urgent help with our programs for special need kids, the equine based therapy and NGO management.

Where else did you travel to so far?

European countries, South East Asia and the whole of South America.

What do you love in general?

Sharing with like minded people, travelling, outdoor activities, sport and yoga.

What do you love about your job?

The fact that we are able to help create a better future for the less fortunate and that I meet like-minded volunteers from all over the world who join our efforts.

What do you dislike about your job?

That everything moves much slower in this part of the world...

What do you want to show to interns and volunteers about your (new) home country?

How wonderful people are, even if their daily struggle for a better life is enormous and leaves them with little choices and a simple lifestyle. The overwhelming beauty and richness of nature and the breathtaking views.

How does your normal day look like?

I enjoy the early morning hours with outdoor exercises and contemplating the magnificent views before joining our volunteers and interns for breakfast. My working day consists of numerous exiting moments with volunteers, beneficiaries, local authorities and my daughter trying to combine the tasks of single parenting and community leadership. I rejoice in inspiring conversation with fellow volunteers and community members and after work activities comprise seeing a good movie or table games with volunteers and quality time with my daughter.

What do you do at home to relax your mind?

I live and work in a pleasant cooperative living setting on foundations grounds and group activities like volleyball games, movie­nights, social games, weekend excursions and gym evenings are among my favourites.

Do you like any outdoor activities?

I love the outdoors and our community lifestyle and setting offers plenty of opportunities for outdoor activities which I make frequent use of: day trips to waterfalls and rivers, sport games, mountain­biking, wildwater­rafting, horse riding, cross­country running, para gliding, ...

Any personal plans for the future that you would like to share?

I am very much looking forward to take my daughter on a trip to Europe and give her the opportunity to discover her German roots and meet new family members in Germany. Belgium and the Netherlands.